Future Architecture and System Technology for Scalable Computing




Research Tools





Nam Sung Kim


I am the W.J. ‘Jerry’ Sanders III – Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Endowed Chair Professor at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign and a fellow of both ACM and IEEE. From 2018 to 2020, I was on leave to lead the development of next-generation DRAM products  which will change the computing paradigm at a major memory manufacturing company as a Sr. Vice President. Prior to joining the University of Illinois in the fall of 2015, I was an associate professor at the University of Wisconsin, Madison where I was early-tenured in 2013. My interdisciplinary research incorporates device, circuit, architecture, and software for power-efficient computing. My research has been supported by National Science Foundation (NSF), Semiconductor Research Corporation (SRC), Defense Advanced Research Project Agency (DARPA), BAE Systems, AMD, IBM, Samsung, and Microsoft. Prior to joining the University of Wisconsin, Madison, I was a senior research scientist at Intel from 2004 to 2008, where I conducted research in power-efficient digital circuit and process architecture. I have published more than 200 refereed articles to highly selective conferences and journals in the field of digital circuit, processor architecture, and computer-aided design. The top three most frequently cited papers have more than 4500 citations and the total number of citations of all his papers exceeds 12000. I was a recipient of the IEEE Design Automation Conference (DAC) Student Design Contest Award in 2001, Intel Fellowship in 2002, the IEEE International Symposium on Microarchitecture (MICRO) Best Paper Award in 2003, NSF CAREER Award in 2010, IBM Faculty Award in 2011 and 2012, the University of Wisconsin Villas Associates Award in 2015, ACM/IEEE Most Influential International Symposium on Computer Architecture (ISCA) Paper Award in 2017, and IEEE/ACM International Symposium on Microarchitecture (MICRO) Test of Time Award, 2021. I am a hall of fame member of all three major computer architecture conferences, IEEE International Symposium on High-Performance Computer Architecture (HPCA), MICRO, and ISCA. I earned a PhD degree in Computer Science and Engineering from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, and Master and Bachelor degrees in Electrical Engineering from the Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology.

Current Students


Research Area

Ipoom Jeong (Post-doc)

CPU/GPU microarchitecture, Memory and I/O subsystems

Jinghan Huang (Ph.D.)

In-network/storage processing

Houxiang Ji (Ph.D.)

Near-memory acceleration

Jiaqi Lou (Ph.D.)

CPU and accelerator architecture

Chihun Song (Ph.D.)

In-memory computing

Hyungyo Kim (Ph.D.)

ML systems

Siddharth Agarwal (Ph.D.)

Architecture-Networking co-design

Yan Sun (Ph.D.)

Memory system hardware and software

Reese Kuper (M.S.)

Memory system hardware and software

Douglas Yu (M.S.)

Memory system hardware and software

Jerry Wang (M.S.)

Security architecture

Nachuan Wang (M.S.)

ML Systems

Kevin Zhuo (Ph.D.)

CPU Microarchitecture

Yang Zhuo (M.S.)

Memory subsystems

Howie Liu (M.S.)

Accelerator architecture

Past Ph.D. and Post-doctoral Students


First Employment

Abhishek Sinkar


Syed Gilani


Daniel Chang

Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology as an assistant professor

Jungseob Lee


Amin Farmahini[1]


Hamid Reza Ghasemi


David Palframan[2]


Hao Wang


Paula Aguilera[3]


Dahoon Kim (Post-doc)

Daegu Gyeongbuk Institute of Science and Technology as an assistant professor

Michael Mishikin[4]


Zhenhong Liu


Mohammad Alian

Kansas University as an assistant professor

Yongseok Son (Post-doc)

Chung-Ang University

Ahmed Abulila


Yifan Yuan


Youjie Li


Dong Kai Wang

University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign




[1] He was co-advised with Professor Katherine Morrow

[2] He was co-advised with Professor Mikko Lipasti.

[3]  She was co-advised with Professor Katherine Morrow.

[4] He is at the University of Wisconsin, Madison and co-advised with Professor Lipasti.